Home > Tag Archives: Astra

Tag Archives: Astra

Two hurricane research satellites lost in Astra launch failure

Astra’s Rocket 3.3 vehicle lifted off at 1:43 p.m. EDT (1743 GMT) Sunday from Cape Canaveral with the first two NASA TROPICS hurricane research satellites. Credit: Astra / NASASpaceflight Two small NASA hurricane research satellites were destroyed after launch from Cape Canaveral Sunday when their commercial rocket, provided by Astra, prematurely shut down its upper stage engine before reaching the ...

Read More »

Live coverage: Astra counting down to launch today at Cape Canaveral

Astra is counting down to the first of three launches this summer to deploy a fleet of six small NASA hurricane research satellites. Liftoff of Astra’s small launcher from Cape Canaveral with the first two TROPICS nanosatellites is scheduled during a two-hour window opening at 12 p.m. EDT (1600 GMT), weather permitting. The official launch weather forecast from the U.S. ...

Read More »

Astra poised to begin three-launch campaign with NASA hurricane research satellites

Astra’s Rocket 3.3, tail number LV0010, stands its launch pad at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station before launch on NASA’s TROPICS-1 mission. Credit: Brady Kenniston / Astra Astra is preparing to launch the first of three straight dedicated missions for NASA this weekend at Cape Canaveral to deploy six shoebox-size hurricane research satellites, helping pioneer a new paradigm of riskier ...

Read More »

Astra launches first successful mission with operational satellites

Astra’s Rocket 3.3 lifts off from Tuesday from Alaska. Credit: Astra Astra’s small satellite launcher returned to flight Tuesday and delivered an unspecified number of small satellites into orbit after a successful liftoff from Alaska, helping clear the way for a series of three launches for NASA in the coming months at Cape Canaveral. The 43-foot-tall (13.1-meter) launcher, named Rocket ...

Read More »