The shortlist of 24 finalists for the 2019 EY Entreprenenur of the Year has been announced.

Among them is Pat McDonagh of Supermacs, who is shortlisted in the Industry category.

Collectively, the finalists employ more than 13,000 people and generate annual revenues of almost €1.2bn.

They will compete across three categories – Emerging, Industry and International, with one winner being named EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019.

The programme, which has been running for over two decades, boasts an alumni of more than 500 business people – almost 80% of whom now do business with one another.

This year's finalists were shortlisted from more than 120 nominations.

"As with every year, the standard of nominees has been incredibly strong. The judging panel always has a very tough job trying to reach a shortlist of 24 finalists but it is fantastic to see a wide range of different industries represented," Anne Heraty, CEO of CPL Resources and Chair of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year judging panel said.
"This year, our shortlist has everything from fast food to energy, with many of the entrepreneurs representing businesses that are household names. Cutting-edge technology businesses are prominent again this year, alongside a strong mix of more traditional businesses," Kevin McLoughlin, Partner Lead for the EY Entrepreneur of The Year programme said.

"The standard of the finalists this year is reflective of a very healthy entrepreneurial community on the island of Ireland," he added.

The full list includes, in the Emerging Category: Sonia Deasy, Pestle & Mortar; James and Timothy McElroy, HouseMyDog; Tom Cronin, Rye River Brewing Company; Mervyn O'Callaghan and Simon Murray, Provision Vehicle Cameras; Ian Nolan and Alex Kelly, Brightflag; Triona Mullane, mAdme Technologies; John Mullins, Amarenco Solar and Mark Dowds, Trov.

In the Industry Category: Pat McDonagh, Supermac's Holdings; Matt Ryan, Press Up Entertainment Group; Peter and Una Kearns, The Institute of Education; Donnacha Hurley, Motor Mania Limited; Mark Whitaker, Johnson & Perrott Motor Group; Ashley McCulla, McCulla (Ireland) Ltd.; Laurence O'Kane, IMED Healthcare and Patrick Derry, DRT (NI) LTD.

In the International Category: Andrew Day, Keywords Studios; Richard Kennedy, Devenish; Paul McKenna, mac-group; Lily Holmes, PB Machine Tech; Philip Noone, Aalto Bio; Brian Leslie, Seaquest Systems; Lulu O'Sullivan, and Shane Evans, Scrapinghub.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Dublin in November.